chakras healing energy vibration yoga spirit mind love beauty

What are the 7 chakras?

Think of your body like a car. You can’t run on just one wheel, everything needs to be functioning in harmony, otherwise you’ll be thrown off balance. The chakra system is just like this. Chakra literally translates to “wheel” in Sanskrit and this is exactly what they are – wheels that steer us through life. If one of the wheels are our out balance it affects the functioning of the whole body. Thankfully, this disharmony and dis-ease can be resolved by opening the chakras to restore balance.

What are chakras?

The chakras are energy points in the body. They are located along the central energy passage or nadi, known as sushumna which runs along the spine. There are seven main chakras, each of which corresponds to a different part of the body. They also have different colours and seed mantras.

Muladhara – base chakra
This chakra point is located at the base of the spine between the urinary and excretory organs. It’s seed mantra is Lam and it’s colour is red. It’s location physically links it with sexuality, however this chakra also stability, sensuality and our sense of security.

Swadhisthana – sacral chakra
Moving up, we come to the Swadhisthana located at the tailbone. It’s mantra is Vam and colour, orange. Due to its location, the swadhisthana is associationed with reproduction but on a deeper level it also governs creativity and joy.

Manupura – Solar plexus chakra
Manipura is located behind the naval. It is linked to our digestive system, but is also associated with our our inner fire, dynamism and confidence. The chakra’s colour is yellow and mantra is Ram.

Anahata – heart chakra
As the name suggests, anahata is located at our spiritual centre, the heart. Much like the traits associated with the heart, anahata is linked to love, passion, devotion. On a physical level it is naturally concerned with circulation. It’s mantra is Yam and colour, green

Vishuddha – throat chakra
Located at the thorat, Vishuddha governs communication as well as growth and maturity.  It is also associated with the thyroid gland. It’s colour is blue and mantra, Ham.

Anja – third eye chakra
Located at the eyebrow centre, this chakra is believed to be the gateway through which energy from the external environments enters the body. Meditating at this point helps centre and still the mind. It’s seed mantra is the very well known, Om and colour is indigo or purple.

Sahasrara – crown chakra
This chakra is located at the top of the head and it’s colour is white. Sahasrara chakra represents detachment from illusion and plays a role in helping one achieve great self-awareness and unity with higher consciousness.

Veronica Joseph

Veronica Joseph

Veronica Joseph is an accredited yoga teacher who loves to share her yogic journey from travels in India, cleansing techniques, her favourite poses and their benefits and tips to remember when practising.

You May Also Like

Wellbeing & Eatwell Cover Image 1001x667 2024 02 21t111252.796

Low carb & luscious

Health Literate Sponsored Article

Understanding Health Literacy & Its Impact on Australia’s Wellbeing

Wellbeing & Eatwell Cover Image 1001x667 2024 02 14t134802.702

Kale chips to beat emotional cravings

Wellbeing Eatwell Cover Image 1001x667 2023 08 22t170637.564

Revamp your health and wellbeing with a new daily ritual